2013 Results

2013 Ten-Meter RTTY Contest Results

The solar flux index reached 166 during the 2013 Ten-Meter RTTY Contest which allowed for good conditions. However, the A index jumped to 29 and the K index went to 3 which made for tough going in the latter part of the contest. Although conditions were considerably better than those in 2012, they didn’t seem to be as good as 2011. There were 612 logs submitted in 2013 compared to 470 last year and 689 in 2011.

Pekka Kolehmainen, EA8AH, blew away the field in the Single Operator category with 593 QSOs, 97 multipliers and a score of 56,648 points. Although Pekka’s score is nearly 11,000 points lower than the current single operator record, set by Carlos Neves CT3FQ in 2011, it is the second highest score ever recorded by a single operator. Mohamed Kharbourche, CN8KD, who moved up from 3rd last year, finished second with 40,495 points. Rounding out an all-Africa top-three was YL Dunia, EA8MT, with 36,180 points. Dave Hachadorian, K6LL, repeated as North America winner and came in fourth place overall followed by European winner, Victor Yarovoy, UW1M, in fifth place.

In the Multi-operator category, Fred (WW4LL) and Betty (N9FTX) Dennin, took the top spot as WW4LL with 371 QSOs, 87 multipliers and a score of 31,929 points. In second place was last year’s winner, W6YX, with Mark Aaker, K6UFO, and Tom Berson, ND2T. In third place was N7BV with Chuck Jones, N7BV, and Ernie Griffith, W7EWG.

Thanks to everyone who took part in the 3rd annual Ten-Meter RTTY Contest. Hopefully the sun will remain active at least one more year and we look forward to the 2014 contest which will take place on December 7, 2014.

If you are interested in seeing your log checking report (LCR), you can send email to lcr-ten-rtty@rttycontesting.com requesting your LCR and it will be emailed to you.

2013 Plaque Winners (sponsors in parenthesis)

Single Operator World (rttycontesting.com) – EA8AH, op: Pekka Kolehmainen
Single Operator North America (NA6E Memorial by Mark WT6P) – Dave Hachadorian, K6LL
Single Operator USA (Jim Barron, WB5AAA) – N2WK, op: Wayne King
Single Operator Africa (Mike Tindor, AA8IA) – CN8KD, op: Mohamed Kharbouche, CN8KD
Single Operator Europe (Jeff Demers, N1SNB) – UW1M, op: Victor Yarovoy

Multi Operator World (rttycontesting.com) – WW4LL, operators WW4LL & N9FTX
Multi Operator North America (Wayne King, N2WK) – W6YX, operators K6UFO & ND2T

If you are interested in sponsoring a plaque for the 2012 contest, please contact aa5au@bellsouth.net.